The Game Awards 2020: Winners List (Updating Live) – Variety

The coronavirus pandemic may have impacted the way we hold live events, but this year’s Game Awards is still on.

The 2020 ceremony is airing live from Los Angeles, London and Tokyo from three in-studio, audience-less locations. Speaking to Variety in September, host Geoff Keighley said they “would never normally be able to have three cities live” — which inspired the big-scale idea.

“This is a unique year of circumstances, so let’s try that. I think it sends a really great message, and I think it’s what I’d like to do more of,” he said.

The show will feature musical performances from Pearl Jam’s Eddie Vedder and the London Philharmonic Orchestra, and appearances from special guests including Brie Larson, Christopher Nolan, Gal Gadot, JackSepticEye, John David Washington, Josef Fares, Keanu Reeves, Nolan North, Reggie Fils-Aime, Stephen A. Smith, Tom Holland and Troy Baker.

In addition to musical performances, celebrity appearances and special segments, the show will also feature exclusive announcements, as it has in past years. Expect news from “Among Us,” “Call of Duty,” “Dragon Age” and “Crimson Desert,” among others.

Naughty Dog’s hit sequel “The Last of Us Part II” leads the nominations with 10. Following close behind are Supergiant Games’ “Hades” with eight and Sucker Punch’s “Ghost of Tsushima” with seven. All three are up for game of the year; the other nominees for the top prize are Nintendo’s “Animal Crossing: New Horizons,” id Software’s “Doom Eternal” and Square Enix’s “Final Fantasy VII Remake.”

The Game Awards, starting at 4 p.m. PT/7 p.m. ET, will air livestream for free globally across 45 partners, including YouTube, Twitch, Twitter, Facebook and Steam. See a full list of winners below, updated live as they’re announced.

Game of the Year

Animal Crossing: New Horizons – Nintendo
Doom Eternal – id Software
Final Fantasy VII Remake – Square Enix
Ghost of Tsushima – Sucker Punch
Hades – Supergiant Games
The Last of Us Part II – Naughty Dog

Game Direction

Final Fantasy VII Remake – Square Enix
Ghost of Tsushima – Sucker Punch
Hades – Supergiant Games
Half-Life Alyx – Valve
The Last of Us Part II – Naughty Dog

Most Anticipated Game

Elden Ring – From Software/Bandai Namco (WINNER)
Halo Infinite – 343/Xbox Game Studios
Horizon Forbidden West – Guerrilla Games/SIE
God of War Sequel – SIE Santa Monica/SIE
Resident Evil Village – Capcom
The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild Sequel – Nintendo


The Last of Us Part II (WINNER)
13 Sentinels: Aegis Rim
Final Fantasy VII Remake
Ghost of Tsushima

Art Direction

Ghost of Tsushima (WINNER)
Final Fantasy VII Remake
Ori and the Will of the Wisps
The Last of Us Part II

Score and Music

Final Fantasy VII Remake (WINNER)
Doom Eternal
Ori and the Will of the Wisps
The Last of Us Part II

Audio Design

Doom Eternal
Half-Life: Alyx
Ghost of Tsushima
Resident Evil 3
The Last of Us Part II


Laura Bailey – Abby, The Last of Us Part II (WINNER)
Ashley Johnson – Ellie, The Last of Us Part II
Daisuke Tsuji – Jin, Ghost of Tsushima
Logan Cunningham – Hades, Hades
Nadji Jeterm – Miles Morales, Marvel’s Spider-Man: Miles Morales

Games for Impact

Tell Me Why (WINNER)
If Found…
Kentucky Route Zero: TV Edition
Through Darkest of Times

Ongoing Game

No Man’s Sky (WINNER)
Apex Legends
Destiny 2
Call of Duty: Warzone

Indie Game

Fall Guys: Ultimate Knockout
Spelunky 2

Debut Indie Game

Phasmophobia (WINNER)
Mortal Shell
Raji: An Acient Epic

Mobile Game

Among Us
Call of Duty Mobile
Genshin Impact
Legends of Runeterra
Pokémon Cafe Mix

Community Support

Apex Legends
Destiny 2
Fall Guys: Ultimate Knockout
No Man’s Sky

VR/AR Game

Half-Life: Alyx (WINNER)
Marvel’s Iron Man VR
Star Wars: Squadrons
The Walking Dead: Saints & Sinners

Innovation in Accessibility

Assassin’s Creed Valhalla
The Last of Us Part II
Watch Dogs Legion

Action Game

Doom Eternal
Half-Life: Alyx
Nioh 2
Streets of Rage 4

Action/Adventure Game

The Last of Us Part II (WINNER)
Assassin’s Creed Valhalla
Ghost of Tsushima
Marvel’s Spider-Man: Miles Morales
Ori and the Will of the Wisps
Star Wars Jedi: Fallen Order


Final Fantasy VII Remake
Genshin Impact
Persona 5 Royal
Wasteland 3
Yakuza: Like a Dragon

Fighting Game

Granblue Fantasy: Versus
Mortal Kombat 11 Ultimate
Street Fighter V: Champion Edition
One Punch Man: A Hero Nobody Knows
Under Night In-Birth
Under Night In-Birth Exe:Late[cl-r]

Family Game

Animal Crossing: New Horizons (WINNER)
Crash Bandicoot 4: It’s About Time
Fall Guys: Ultimate Knockout
Mario Kart Live: Home Circuit
Minecraft Dungeons
Paper Mario: The Origami King

Sim/Strategy Game

Crusader Kings 3
Desperados 3
Gears Tactics
Microsoft Flight Simulator
XCOM: Chimera Squad#

Sports/Racing Game

Tony Hawk’s Pro Skater 1+2 (WINNER)
Dirt 5
F1 2020
NBA 2K21

Multiplayer Game

Animal Crossing: New Horizons
Among Us
Call of Duty: Warzone
Fall Guys: Ultimate Knockout

Content Creator of the Year

Alanah Pearce
Jay Ann Lopez

Esports Athlete

Heo “Showmaker” Su (WINNER)
Ian “Crimsix” Porter
Kim “Canyon” Geon-Bu
Anthony “Shotzzy” Cuevas-Castro
Matthieu “Zywoo” Herbaut

Esports Coach

Danny “Zonic” Sorensen
Dae-Hee “Crusty” Park
Fabian “Grabbz” Lohmann
Lee “Zefa” Jae-Min
Raymond “Rambo” Lussier

Esports Event

Blast Premier: Spring 2020 European Finals
Call of Duty League Championship 2020
IEM Katowice 2020
League of Legends World Championship 2020
Overwatch League Grand Finals 2020

Esports Game

League of Legends (WINNER)
Call of Duty: Modern Warfare
Counter-Strike: Global Offensive

Esports Host

Alex “Goldenboy” Mendez
Alex “Machine” Richardson
Eefje “Sjokz” Depoortere
James “Dash” Patterson
Jorien “Sheever” Van der Heijden

Esports Team

Damwon Gaming
Dallas Empire
G2 Esports
San Francisco Shock
Team Secret

Related posts

Leave a Comment