NFL execs vote on awards: Whos MVP? Coach of the Year? –

McDermott is the winner here for a second year in a row, having led the Bills to their first AFC East title since 1995, with the best record (11-3) of any team whose opponents’ winning percentage is above .500. He received 7.5 votes to beat out Cleveland’s Kevin Stefanski (6.5) and Miami’s Brian Flores (6). “He’s easy to overlook, because they’ve been such a steady, progressing program,” an NFC team executive said of McDermott, who is now 36-26 with three playoff trips in four seasons. “But I think he still needs to get credit for a team that hadn’t been in the playoffs in very long, hadn’t won a division in very long and just won a division that’s been a monopoly for 20 years.” Despite the challenges associated with COVID-19, which shuttered NFL facilities and wiped out offseason practices and preseason games, Stefanski has turned the Browns around in his first season as a head coach. They’re 10-4 and closing in on their first playoff bid since 2002; the NFL’s other four first-year coaches are a combined 20-36. “Off the field’s probably where he’s done the best,” another executive said. “The fact that it was a quarantine (but he) changed the whole culture quickly. Everyone’s bought in. I just think he’s such a refreshing change from what they had, and he gets it, and he’s got a good staff. They don’t do things just to do them — there’s always a reason.” Flores also has the Dolphins in the AFC playoff picture in his second season, after somehow winning five games with a bare-bones roster in 2019. “What he’s doing with that team is really impressive,” said a third exec. “Defensively, they have exceeded expectations. I think they’ve got talent there, but they’re playing above their level of talent. And they have a style and they dictate the tempo of the game.” Kansas City’s Andy Reid and Pittsburgh’s Mike Tomlin received one vote each.

Related posts

Leave a Comment